Money Tips

Money Tips

Headine - BA140 Module 1.png Module 1: Total 100 points

· Money Tips 20 points

· Money Myths 20 points

· Identity Theft 20 points

· Financial Experts 20 points

· Introductory Quiz 20 points

Money Tips

According to a recent study by the American Psychological Association, a majority of Americans (64%), especially for those 18-49 years old, are highly stressed about money. One of the best ways to keep money worries at bay is with information. This part of the assignment is designed to do just that.

Step 1: Read the article, “10 Best Money Tips for College Freshmen,” located within the module on Canvas.

Step 2: After reading the article, reorganize the list by ranking them from 1 being the most important to 10 being the least important. Include 2-3 sentences for each tip about why you ranked it where you did.

Rank Tip Rationale for Ranking (2-3 sentences each)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Money Myths

As stated previously, knowing more about how money is utilized helps keep stress about money at bay. However, it is also important to know which information or myths are false.

Step 1: Read “6 Money Myths Millennials Should Bust — Now” and think about whether or not you have ever believed any of these myths.

Step 2: In 300 – 400 words, write about which 2 myths surprised you the most and how you might change your financial habits after reading about these misconceptions.

Identity Theft

In 2014, the Bureau of Justice Statistics estimated that 17.6 million U.S. residents age 16 or older were victims of identity theft. With such a growing problem, it is important to be equipped with the proper tools and information to battle such attacks on your personal wealth and information.

Step 1: Read the “Top 16 Pieces of Your Information Identity Thieves Crave.” Select the seven most relevant to you and rank each of them in the table below (On a scale of 1-5 with 1 being not likely and 5 being highly likely, how at-risk do you feel this particular piece of information is for you).

Step 2: Once you have ranked each, answer the additional questions in the table.

Note: Answers must relate to you, personally. Do not answer how someone could find the information in general or what people can do in general to prevent it

Piece of Information At-Risk Scale How could someone get this information from you? What could someone do with it? How could you put a stop to it?

Follow the Financial Experts

Not all information is good information. To keep you updated on the latest information regarding money, this next part will connect you to several Financial Experts.

Step 1: The list below outlines 25 Top Financial Blogs. Choose 3 to follow over the next several weeks. If you have blogs that you currently follow or find others of interest, you may use those instead.

Top Finance Blogs

1. Suzie Orman: http://www.suzeorman.com/blog/

2. Money Under 30: http://www.moneyunder30.com/

3. Young Finances: http://youngfinances.com/blog/

4. The Simple Dollar: www.thesimpledollar.com

5. The College Investor: http://thecollegeinvestor.com/

6. Investor Junkie: https://investorjunkie.com/

7. Cash Money Life: http://cashmoneylife.com/

8. Main Street: https://www.mainstreet.com/

9. Wise Bread: http://www.wisebread.com/

10. The Penny Hoarder: http://www.thepennyhoarder.com/

11. Dough Roller: http://www.doughroller.net/

12. Mint: http://blog.mint.com/

13. My Dollar Plan: http://www.mydollarplan.com/

14. PT Money: http://ptmoney.com/

15. Five Cent Nickel: http://www.fivecentnickel.com/

16. Saving to Invest: http://www.savingtoinvest.com/

17. Freebie Blogger: http://thefreebieblogger.com/

18. Generation X Finance: http://genxfinance.com/

19. Retire by 40: http://retireby40.org/

20. Rather be Shopping: http://www.rather-be-shopping.com/blog/

21. Wall Street Journal: http://www.wsj.com/public/page/news-personal-finance-columns-blogs.html

22. Rich Dad Poor Dad: www.richdad.com

23. I Will Teach You To Be Rich: www.iwillteachyoutoberich.com

24. Dave Ramsey: http://www.daveramsey.com/radio/home/

25. Mr. Money Mustache: www.mrmoneymustache.com

Step 2: The Why Write 150-200 words for each of the three blogs you chose. Reflect on why you chose that particular one. What about it interests you? What are you hoping to learn from it?

1) Blog 1

Blog Name:
Blog Link:
Reason for Blog Choice: :

2) Blog 2

Blog Name:
Blog Link:
Reason for Blog Choice:

3) Blog 3

Blog Name:
Blog Link:
Reason for Blog Choice:

Introductory Quiz

Take “Introductory Quiz” on Canvas in Module 1


Comments are closed.